Skip to content

Welcome!

May 4, 2011

Hello and thank you so very much for checking out my website and blog. Please bear with me, although very excited, this is my first public blogging expedition, and I’m not quite sure how this works!

I guess I’ll start from the beginning.

After moving here in August of 2010, I attended the Make-Up Designory and graduated from their Multimedia Make-up Artistry program in March of this year. It was an incredible program and during the course of my study, I began to become very curious about products…

After pondering the fact that, of course, our skin is our largest organ and after slathering numerous products on the skin of myself and my classmates day after day, I began to wonder what exactly these products contained. Would I feel as comfortable putting these products inside my body as I do on the surface if I knew exactly what was in them? After all, that is where they end up.

After doing a great deal of research on my own and through the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics I came to learn that there is much smaller amount of regulation over the ingredients in our beauty and self-care products than I had hoped…in fact, right now, there is close to none. Many of the ingredients that are in the majority of our products are toxic, and can cause serious health implications later down the line. Using something that might make us look good now, but possibly cause us disease later on just doesn’t make any sense to me.

I realized…if this is something a product-obsessed make-up artist just recently discovered, I’m sure it isn’t as widely known as it should be. I now no longer use any beauty, health care or home care items that contain toxins and I hope to convince others to do the same.

I know it isn’t easy to find effective and natural products as we are given such little information on the topic. This is why I will from now on be posting natural, toxin-free beauty product information and reviews here on my blog. I’m beyond excited to have an excuse to try new products and an opportunity to educate myself and others on safe beauty products.

Please ask me any questions or let me know if there are any products that you are curious about and would like me to try – I’m always open to new ideas and available for discussion at annie@anniestrole.com

Check back soon for my first product review!

Thanks,

Annie Strole

Photo of my paw doing what it does best by Anna Li for The Loved One

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

