Skip to content

First Review: Tarte Dark Circle Defense Under Eye Concealer

May 8, 2011

Personally, I am a woman in dire need of a heavy-duty under eye concealer. Due to genetics, bad sleeping habits, stress, dehydration and the more than occasional alcohol consumption (early 20’s + New York = it happens), I am just a living, breathing example of all the factors that can and will cause horrifying under eye circles. Unfortunately “heavy duty” and “all-natural” are terms that do not often coincide. I came across this supposed dark-circle reducing concealer at Sephora, and although not often swayed by prophetic claims, I decided to give it a shot.

Price: $32.00 (yikes)

Ingredients: Canola Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Germ Extract, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Silica, Bis-Diglycerol Polyacyladipate-2, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Tribehenin, Ozokerite, Tocopheryl, Lecithin, Silica, Aqua, Honey Extract, Tetrapeptide-14, Polysorbate 20, Sorbitan Laurate. (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

After individually researching all ingredients, from what I can tell, this really is toxin-free. The toxicity of Titanium Dioxide is often debated, but I think as long as it is used in moderation and in conjunction with other primarily toxin-free products, we should be in the clear.

I know that canola oil is great for moisturizing and conditioning the skin and supposedly honey extract reduces inflammation – both wonderful things for that almost frustratingly ever-delicate under eye area

Packaging: It’s funny…when I bought this I initially thought that it came in a rather large box for such a small product, but looking at all the pictures online now, I’ve come to realize that it must have been packaged with a brush. I’m assuming in my child-like excitement for a new “toy” I must have just ripped the box open and discarded the brush.

Use: So needless to say, I’ve been applying it with my fingers. Just a little dab in the inner corners of the eyes, and then blended out making sure the outer edges are blended into the rest of the face really well so as to avoid the dreaded raccoon eyes (inquire within for hilarious examples). A brush would have been nice, but not totally necessary except for sanitary purposes. I find that cream products blend easier when used with clean hands, anyway.

Effect: I have to say, despite all my aforementioned dark circle contributions, for being a natural product, this really does a decent job. The product claims to reduce the appearance of dark circles after four weeks and unfortunately I have been using it for a little over a month now, and am not sure if I can really tell a difference. Those with less severe circles may have different results.

Final Verdict: Although I wish it were a bit less expensive, I would and probably will buy this product again (hopefully I’ll remember to NOT discard the included brush) unless I come across any other natural products that can provide heavy coverage of dark circles. I have to say, I think Tarte is a really great company with great values and I am really rooting for them.

So, there it is! My first natural make-up review! Please let me know how I did and send any comments, questions or suggestions to annie@anniestrole.com until I can figure out how to get commenting enabled on here!

Thank you for reading!

-Annie Strole

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

