Skip to content

Review: Tarte’s Lifted Natural Eyelid Primer with Firmitol

May 19, 2011

I know…I’ve already done a Tarte cosmetics review, but I am so stoked on this particular product that I can’t stop myself!

I work at a beauty supply store, and a few weeks ago a brand representative from Tarte came in seeking some (all natural of course) skin care products. When I told her how obsessed I was with the line, and that I am a make-up artist who strives to have an entirely natural kit, she just handed me this huge eyeshadow palette and one of their infamous cheek stains on the spot! No questions asked! I wanted to hug her, take her on a candle lit date, offer her my firstborn but she was totally cool about it! I was floored!

Included in the eyeshadow was a pretty sizable sample of their Lifted eyelid primer, which can also be found at any Sephora or on the Tarte website.

Price: $20, or included as a free sample in any of their eyeshadow palettes

Ingredients: Isododecane, Nylon-12, Polyethylene, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polysilicone-11, Amino Butyric Acid, Barium Sulfate, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite , VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Methicone, Phenoxyethanol. (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)

To be honest a lot of these ingredients I wasn’t totally familiar with, so I researched each and everyone of them. Unfortunately this product isn’t 100% safe, but still very close to it. Some ingredients like Phenoxyethanol can cause allergic reactions and Sulfates of any kind appear to run the risk of causing developmental and reproductive toxicity as well as hormone imbalances.

With that being said, the ingredients used in this product are on the lowest end of the harmful scale and is still acceptable to use in moderation.

Packaging: As you can clearly see in the picture, this product comes in a nice, sleek dark purple tube with an applicator wand similar to a lip gloss.

Use: With the wand, just apply generously all over eyelid and surrounding area and blend out with your fingertip. Easy! Wait for the product to dry and then apply your eyeshadow as you please.

Effect: When I say this stuff works, I meeeeeeean it works! I’m not sure if y’all have gathered already but I am a pretty oily and sweaty lady as well as a person who keeps pretty long hours (as most of us do) and after wearing this under my eye make-up for a day I was honestly shocked to see that everything on my lids was still entirely perfectly in place. No liner bled onto my upper lid, no eyeshadow gathering into my crease NOTHING. This will prove to be unbelievably useful in the super-sweaty upcoming months we have (supposedly) awaiting us.

As far as the firming properties, I’m not entirely sure as luckily I’m still doing pretty well in that department, but for those of you seeking a product that helps with fine lines and sagging, I would definitely give it a shot.

Final Verdict: Although I wish this product truly were 100% natural, I will more than likely buy it til it goes off of the market. I’m over the moon about it! I literally dreamed about it last night, thus prompting this super enthusiastic post!

Thanks for reading!

-Annie Strole

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

