Skip to content

Review: Burt’s Bees Soap Bark & Chamomile Deep Cleansing Cream

May 23, 2011

I consider myself quite lucky that I work for a beauty supply company that supplies us with product knowledge training on a regular basis. A few weeks ago, Burt’s Bees came to educate us on their line, and I was really quite impressed. I’m sure everyone is familiar with the line, as it is widely sold and well-established and from what I learned, they truly are an ethical and honest company.

While I am doing my best to review all-natural products, I have to admit I knew from the get-go that this product was not entirely natural…but 97% isn’t bad. What I liked about the education I received from this company is that they were very up front about the unnatural aspects of their products; Supposedly they are just using the least abrasive preservatives possible to increase the shelf-life of their product. With such a widely sold line, I can definitely see why that is necessary.

To cut to the chase, I was informed that their Soap Bark & Chamomile Deep Cleansing Cream was a top seller. Obviously I’m always down to try something new, and after tossing out a paraben filled Mario Badescu cream cleanser, I was looking for something new.

Price: $5-$9 depending on retailer

Ingredients: Water, Sunflower Oil, Stearic Acid (Vegetable Fat), Vegetable Glycerin,  Emulsifying Wax, Coconut Oil, Sodium Borate (Natural Borax), Cetyl  Alcohol, Silica, Glucose Sugar, Witch Hazel Extract, Aloe Barbadensis  Leaf Extract, Chamomile Extract, Echinacea (Coneflower), Quillaja (Soap  Bark), Cocoa Butter, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Tocopherol (*Vitamin E),  Lemon Oil, Cilantro Oil, Tarragon Oil, Lavandin Oil, Jasmine Oil,  Xanthan Gum (Natural Thickener), Sucrose Stearate (Sugar Emulsifier),  Menthol, Glucose Oxidase, Lactoperoxidase (Natural Preservative)

I wish I had noticed the menthol before I decided to buy this…not my favorite ingredient for the face.

Use: Real easy, just massage a quarter sized amount onto your face and rinse with warm water. I used it with a complexion brush to achieve a higher level of exfoliation, which I don’t recommend for everyone. I decided to use it with the brush because at times my skin can look dull with dry patches here and there.

Effect: Let’s just say this cleanser is not for me… I’m not sure if it is the menthol, wax, xanthan gum or what, but yikes…my skin has never looked worse – zits in places I’ve never had them before, redness, oiliness somehow coinciding with dryness, inflammation…NOPE. I’m sorry Burt’s Bees! I still totally love and respect the company, but this was a total mismatch for my oily, sensitive, break-out prone skin.

To be fair, this cleanser smells amazing and the tingly feeling of the menthol feels awesome. I think this cleanser may be better suited for someone with normal skin.

Final Verdict: Needless to say, I will not be buying this product again. With that being said I am completely obsessed with all of Burt’s Bees lip balms (especially the pomegranate) as well as their lemon cuticle cream and their all-natural hand sanitizer! Again, you don’t have to take my word for it! If you think this cleanser is suitable for your skin type, it may be worth a shot.

Oh! In other news, I finally organized and stored my entire make-up and hair kit…such a refreshing change from it being all piled up on the floor.

Can y’all believe that entire thing is full of make-up and hair products that I don’t even use on myself?

Anyway, wish me luck in my quest for a new face wash!

Thanks for reading,

Annie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

