Skip to content

I was going to review but…

May 26, 2011

Never would I consider myself and angry person, and certainly not one with many enemies….but I’d really like to find the person who decided it would be a good idea to put the foaming agent sodium lauryl sulfate in pretty much every product that we use and give him a good talking to.

I’m not an expert on chemistry, but I do know that sodium lauryl sulfate is one of the harshest surfactants on the market. It is the same chemical used to degrease CAR ENGINES…CAR ENGINES, PEOPLE! I hardly think our delicate skin and hair follicles are as withstanding as a piece of metal machinery….

Not only is it horrible for your skin and hair, but once absorbed into the skin (which it definitely will be when you consider the infinite amount of pores we have on our bodies) it mimics the activity of the hormone Oestrogen. This can lead to various serious health problems such as breast cancer and male infertility as well as increased PMS  and menopause symptoms…which god knows we could all do with out.

So why is this awful substance used? Because companies are cheap; SLS is the cheapest foaming agent on the market. Even if you use expensive salon-quality shampoos, don’t be fooled! Many of them still use formulas with sodium lauryl sulfate.

Thankfully many companies (even ones that aren’t entirely natural) and consumers are becoming hip to the negative effects of SLS, and reformulating products.

OKAY CHEMICAL RANT OVER!

Those of you who know me personally know that I’ve been struggling with my hair for a while. It’s very dry and is constantly splitting and breaking. This is very frustrating for someone who is trying to grow her hair to long luxurious mermaid-like lengths. This is especially  frustrating for someone who does not dye and hardly every heat styles her hair. On top of all that, during shampoos, my hair has been falling out in clumps ala the shower scene in The Craft. My scalp has been dry, itching, flaking, bleeding….I wish I were exaggerating. I can only hope no potential male suitors are still reading.

I began to think I had some serious hormone imbalance (maybe I DO from all the sodium lauryl sulfate on this planet) or a scalp disorder. I googled some of my symptoms and wouldn’t you know, these are all very common problems for long time users of shampoos containing SLS. Boy was I pissed! I immediately threw out every item in my home containing the chemical and sought a new shampoo immediately.

I decided to try One n’ Only Argan Oil Moisture Repair Shampoo. Despite containing no SLS, phosphates or parabens and being stocked in the all natural, upon research I discovered this product still contains a great deal of chemicals and that is not what this blog is about. I’m sorry but there will be no review today! This is just further proof of how much effort we have to put into researching our products if we want 100% toxin and harm-free products. Quite a shame if you ask me.

I decided to still post as I wanted to inform y’all on the negative aspects of sodium lauryl sulfate and to prove that unfortunately it isn’t always easy to find a quality natural product . As I stated before I am not an expert and this blog isn’t only a learning tool for my readers but for me, too.

Do you already use a shampoo that is all-natural? I would love to hear about it. The wonderful Kennedy Holmes told me about a great shampoo by Aubrey Organics which I’m dying to try!  I think it will be my next purchase.

Thank you all so much for reading, it really means a lot to me.

-Annie Strole

P.S. I mentioned in a previous post I was going to begin using apple cider vinegar as a toner and health supplement again to help with my skin and I’ve already seen a world of improvement, I highly recommend it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

