Skip to content

Review: Tarte LipSurgence natural lip tint in Lust

June 16, 2011

Alright first off, let me apologize for the superfluous Tarte cosmetics reviews, but let me tell you – I have been doing plenty of research and as far as natural, effective, easily accessible make-up goes, ladies (and possibly gentlemen), our options are pretty limited. There is a great deal of all-natural make-up out there…BUT it seems to be only available for purchase online, and the sites are always kind of bizarre and seem rather unprofessional (i.e. the branding/packaging flat out sucks…not into it…someone should really address this).

Anyway! I’ll admit my previous experience with lip tints/stains started and ended like this: in early high school I saw a Covergirl commercial for some lip stain packaged like a marker (COOL), I decided I simply had to have it and it would be the product that changed my life, bought it, used it, my lips looked weird, blotchy and like I had used an actual marker to color them in and I then swore off lip stains forever. After learning of all the horrific chemicals that Covergirl uses in their products, I am probably better off for this decision.

Somehow I managed to have an uncharacteristic amount of free time yesterday and found myself at the mother ship, also known as Sephora. Not only did I have absolutely nothing to do, but I also somehow managed to be maybe one of five customers in the entire store….in Manhattan this is utterly unheard of! It was glorious! So I browsed. I perused. I tried. I tested. I sampled. I spritzed. I questioned and buddied-up with pretty much all of the sales associates until they were absolutely sick of me…to the point that I knew I would feel guilty if I left without purchasing something.

Trust me, I tried to avoid the Tarte display as best as possible. “You’ve overdone it, Annie!” I told myself, “Move on!” but after checking the ingredient labels on what felt like hundreds of products I wish didn’t contain chemicals, preservatives and other various carcinogens I just couldn’t bring myself to buy anything but! And how can you resist a lip stain called Lust??

After heaping on a generous amount of this product and prancing around the store pretending not to care (I did) whether or not I received compliments (I did) on my unexpected new lip stain, the decision had been made…this would be the product that changed my life!

Price: $24 OOF! But between the hassling the sales associates at Sephora endured and my shameless compliment fishing I probably should have paid double.

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceide, Vegetable Oil, Candelilla Cera, Cera Alba, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Castor Oil Bis-Hydroxypropyl Dimethicone Esters, Ozokerite, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Stevioside, Salicornia Herbacea Extract, Palmitoyl Hexapeptide-14, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Red 27 (CI 45410). (+/-): Iron Oxides (CI 77492, CI 77499), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 28 (CI 45410), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140).

Okay, castor oil, good… jojoba oil, great..palmyitoyl hexapeptide 14…come again? After doing a bit of research, I’m not sure this is a naturally occurring substance but, it is non-mutagenic, non-irritating and non-sensitizing. It also increases collagen production! Yes this IS a blog about all-natural beauty, but when it comes to make-up, like I said, our resources are limited.

Use: Apply, if you are a total product hog like me, generously to clean lips and voila! You’re done! Tinted lip balms and now apparently lip stains are incredibly useful to me as I am really ridiculous when it comes to lip color application…I eat a lot, I smile a lot, I talk a lot, I have less than a precise hand when it comes to lip product application and all of these elements produce a ridiculous outcome when using lipstick or lip liners. Because stains are more of a hint of color there is a much larger margin for error.

Also, this product smells minty fresh, yum!

Effect: Alright, so this product’s packaging promises an up to 6,000% increase in moisture and although I have no earthly idea how something like that is measured, I’d say it comes close enough for me…no more blotchy marker mouth! This stain felt like a luxurious (which it had better seeing as it cost me $24!) lip balm that provided a really beautiful, very pigmented red. It even lasted through me eating an entire bag of chips and drinking a beer. At least I can look classy while behaving as anything but.

All in all, if you are looking for a mostly natural, long-lasting red lip that isn’t quite as drastic as a lipstick I would definitely check this out. I’m already obsessed with it and wish I had the entire line of colors…hopefully no more Sephora employees will be harmed in the process.

Thank you for reading!

-Annie Strole

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

