Skip to content

Review: 100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Pot Rouge Blush in Posey

June 19, 2011

Blush is a product I had a hard time understanding for a very long time and then once it finally clicked (“oh…this makes me look NOT dead”, which I think I had to be in college to have a need for), my obsession has been STRONG. For the most part when it comes to my own make-up, I have a “less is more” approach and like to appear as though I’m wearing no make-up whatsoever. Since my discovery of blush, though, I have absolutely no qualms with an almost clown-like application. I’m convinced that the more blush I use the more awake and feminine I look…we all need something to believe in, okay?

For years I wore Desire by NARS, until I developed a curiosity about it’s ingredients:

Talc, Polyethylene, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Tricaprylin, Caprylic/CapricTriglyceride, Cera Alba (Beeswax), PEG-150 Distearate, Lanolin, Laureth-4, Tocopherol, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Ascorbyl Palmitate, May Contain: Mica, CI 77491, 77492, 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 75740 (Carmine), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), CI 15850 (Red 6, Red 7 Lake), CI 45410 (Red 28 Lake), CI 17200 (Red 33 Lake), CI 45370 (Orange 5), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 15985 (Yellow 6 Lake), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake)

Gross. That’s a lot of parabens, y’all, and did you know that parabens are estrogenic, synthetic preservatives that can cause breast cancer, early onset of puberty, decreased sperm count AND if a pregnant woman uses products with parabens it can even effect the future fertility of her FETUS? All for a blushing glow? I think not.

So I looked to 100% Pure Cosmetics for a new, comparable blush. I thought I was only able to find their products online, but of course a few days after I placed my order I stumbled upon a beautiful, full-range display of their products at my local Duane Reade…maybe yours carries them too! (I’m pretty sure all locations with a “Look Boutique” have them, and if anyone knows what other store fronts carry this line I would be eternally grateful of that info!) I was a little peeved that I hadn’t realized this before spending money on shipping, but I sucked it up, poked my fingers in all the testers, played with them for about a half hour and then went home to patiently await my online order.

Price: $15.00 before tax and shipping, pretty steep but a boatload cheaper than the $27 I was shelling out for it’s toxic counterpart

Ingredients: Avocado Butter, Rosehip Oil, Rice Starch, Pigments of: Plum, Pomegranate, Red Wine, Cranberry, Strawberry, Blackberry, Raspberry, Cherry, Cocoa Bean, Peach, Apricot, Blueberry, Carrot and Tomato, Green Tea Powder, Red Wine Resveratrol, Vitamin E (a-tocopherol), Extracts of Goji Berry, Acai Berry, Rosemary, Oregano, Thyme, Japanese Honeysuckle, and Goldenseal, Mica (shimmery mineral), Silica

Sounds so yummy! You could totally eat this product, which is awesome because just like our stomach, our skin is an organ…shouldn’t we feed it as such?

Use: I used my ring finger to apply this silky cream onto the apples of my cheeks and blended with another clean finger. It applied very pigmented and blended surprisingly easy. After reading the ingredients I gave the blush a little sniff (not a lick, but I might actually try), and it didn’t have any scent whatsoever!

Effect: As I said this product blended well and gave great color. I selected the shade “Poppy” as it appeared most comparable to my old NARS blush. I honestly don’t know how they make such an amazing product that is 100% natural…there must be some sort of witchcraft or wizardry involved and I am not complaining. It wears all day, too…not kidding!

Here’s me on a day (today) where I clearly need a lot of help looking not-dead, so I’ve used the Pot Rouge in Posey on my cheeks and a little bit on my lips. I’d say it does a bit to spice up my zombie-like complexion!

Final Verdict: This product is the bee’s knees and I hope to collect the entire color range as well as try more of 100% Pure’s products! This time I’ll be buying from my Duane Reade!

Thanks for reading,

Annie Strole

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2011 3:03 pm

    This is really lovely. I like that you can use it on your lips too. ALSO! another gross thing about “regular cosmetics” especially blush is that heavy metals are usually used to get the red color and red doesn’t “clear” from our blood line. So, the more red any cosmetic has in it, the more heavy metals are sitting inside you. :/ It goes for nail polish too, which is the hardest for me to cut back. BUT I’m told there are specific dietary cleanses you can do that will rid your body of such heavy metals.

    xo!

  2. June 19, 2011 9:25 pm

    Aw thanks Darcy! Yeah the product has a very lipstick-y feel and I like to put it on and then dab a bit of lip balm over it…looks really nice.

    That is so gross about the metals! I never even considered that! Man, it seriously blows my mind what is allowed in cosmetics. I, too am a polish addict and I’m currently trying out natural polishes to write about!

    Let me know about the dietary metal cleanse! I want in!

    <333333

  3. June 20, 2011 11:27 pm

    I also really like this product! Doesn’t have the sticky feel of some other creme blushers.
    Have you tried their foundation yet? I have their liquid which I really enjoy. It’s quite sheer but semi buildable and sets brilliantly!

    • June 21, 2011 4:34 am

      I haven’t tried the foundation yet…I’m torn between trying that and the Lavera! Hard life!

      • Emily permalink
        September 30, 2011 4:30 am

        Is there anything about Lavera foundation that would set it apart as a better product? I have both 100% tinted moisturizer and the regular foundation, and i must say that while both products are great, the regular foundation is quite drying, so you better not have any dry patches of skin or it will pick them up. Tinted moisturizer all the way.

      • October 3, 2011 11:16 pm

        I still haven’t had an opportunity to try Lavera but I really do just love 100% Pure’s tinted moisturizer…sooo lovely πŸ™‚

  4. June 30, 2011 10:17 pm

    Hey Annie! I’m an Annie too and I just started my own natural beauty blog. Twins! Haha πŸ™‚

    In another review, you mentioned that you have oily skin. Do you have any problems with acne? I just ordered a bunch of 100% Pure stuff, which of course included blushes (I was the same way about blush – I didn’t “get” it for the longest time, and now I LOVE it and can be guilty of piling a bit too much on). I steered clear of the pot rouge because ONE of my cheeks is acne-prone (I guess it’s the one I sleep on most?) and I was afraid the creaminess would a problem. Do you have any thoughts/experience with that?

    • June 30, 2011 10:28 pm

      Whoa hey! Cool! Great to meet you! I have a ton of problems with acne, haha. I have never been acne prone on my cheeks until this year….I just moved to New York and I think my hair touching it a lot + sweat + new york grime is making things flare up. I’m not sure if the pot rouge is contributing to that at all…I’m not sure if it would because it is so natural, but the creaminess may be an issue! I know they have great powder blushes too! I would try them for sure.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

  5. Emily permalink
    September 30, 2011 4:26 am

    I loved this post- wonderfully written (so entertaining) and great photo. I am putting in an order this weekend for Posey (looks gorgeous on you) as they are having free shipping and a free gift with purchase. Thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

