Skip to content

Review: 100% Pure Cosmetics Fruit Pigmented Mascara

June 22, 2011

Now did you really think I only ordered one item off of the 100% Pure website? Clearly you don’t know me very well yet! That’s alright because soon you will come to realize that I am a beauty product shopaholic and the only reason I limited myself to two items is due to my very meager checking account.

OH! Before I forget again, I wanted to mention that in my order they included a couple body lotion samples (yay!) as well as this note:

Thank you so very much for ordering 100% Pure! It is our life mission to create the most pure, healthy and absolute best products for you! These color cosmetic products are a true beauty breakthrough. While other color cosmetics are made with either FD&C/Lake colors (synthetic dyes) or minerals, only 100% Pure color cosmetics are made with pure fruit pigments (patent pending)! All the antioxidants and vitamins in fruits are in the actual color, so you will be applying all the healthy nutrients of the fruits directly onto your skin! Thank you once again for purchasing 100% Pure!

XOXO

Susie Wang

Founder

Pretty heartwarming, huh? That made me feel a little better about accidentally ordering online, paying for shipping and then subsequently realizing the line is sold at the Duane Reade by my house.

Anyway, when I first started this blog the idea of finding an all natural mascara seemed pretty daunting…As I’ve mentioned before, our all-natural make-up resources are pretty limited in the first place and the all-day stay that is required of mascara seems like a challenge that all-natural products may not be able to live up to. I wanted to try 100% Pure’s Fruit Pigmented Mascara in Black Tea as it was the most natural mascara I could get my hands on.

Price: $12.00 for the mini size (which I got) or $18 for the regular

Ingredients: Organic Green Tea, Vitamin E (a-tocopherol), Honey Beeswax, Contains All or some of the following Pigments: Blackberry, Blueberry, Black Tea, Grape Skin, Pomegranate, Acai Berry, Boysenberry, Blackcurrant and Raspberry, Oat Protein, Wheat Protein, Provitamin B5, Seaweed Powder, Coconut Stearic acid, Cocoa Butter, Pearl Powder, Rice Powder, Cacao Powder and Powdered Coffee Beans, Lavender Honey, Extracts of Oregano, Thyme, Rosemary, Lavender and Goldenseal

Again, this ingredient list sounds so darn pleasant and edible that it makes me want to hug a bunny!

Use: When applying mascara, I typically like to start at the ends to build volume, as there is less volume at the ends of lashes than at the base. Then I work some through with the want from the base to the tip of the lash. The consistency of this mascara is thin but not runny which is definitely ideal as far as mascaras go. Plus this stuff smells straight up like blueberries, YUM!

Effect: The color coverage of this mascara is great…very solid and uniform. It also does lengthen and add volume, but it did come out a little clumpy (see picture below!)…this may be due to the wand though. This mascara has a typical spool wand but I prefer mascaras with a rubber wand as they tend to separate the lashes a bit more effectively, at least for me. I’ve heard some people say otherwise!

So, yeah a little clumpy but not bad!

 

(excuse my horrific skin…currently undergoing my monthly PMS break-out….sorry to any gentleman readers)

As far as wear though, that’s where I get a little sad. Unfortunately this mascara smudges…a lot. To give it some credit I did wear it on a very hot and humid day and as I have previously mentioned, I am an abnormally sweaty person.

Final Verdict: Well despite a little clumping and smudging, I am still just over the moon for 100% Pure Cosmetics. I think I’ll continue to use this mascara, maybe when sporting a smoky eye so that the smudging will work in my favor!

Do y’all have any requests for future reviews? I’d love some input!

Thanks for reading!

-Annie Strole

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 11:13 pm

    you have not one single blemish. the word “horrific” has no place here. Don’t be silly. Also, thanks so much for this review. I have searched for natural mascara, only to be disappointed and with $10 less in my piggy bank. Thanks, beauty!

    • June 29, 2011 2:24 pm

      Ooooh Jade you are so very sweet. I must admit there is a lot of concealer going on in this picture, but I do appreciate it. I’m glad to help and I cannot thank you enough for reading. ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

