Skip to content

Review: Blum Naturals Daily Cleansing & Make-up Remover Toilettes for Combination/Oily Skin

June 25, 2011

You probably gathered by now that I am quite the lazy lady so when we received a shipment of these bad boys at my store I was just absolutely beside myself. Certainly all of us have those nights wherein we are working really hard [to catch up on episodes of the Bachelorette] and can’t quite make it to the bathroom for our full-blown skin care routine before conking out. I honestly can’t tell you how many times I wish I had a sink next to my bed; other objects I wish were commonly found on or near a bed: cup holder, refrigerator, coffee maker, personal masseuse..you get the idea. I’M LAZY. Cue cleansing and make-up removing wipes!

I love that they are perfect for the modern girl-on-the go to throw in her bag to freshen up during her work day or after the gym, so naturally as soon as I got them home I popped them right into my nightstand. What? Oh, and did I mention they are all-natural?

You can find these gems at most Ricky’s locations, Whole Foods and on drugstore.com.

Price: $6.99

Ingredients:

Aqua (Water), Decyl Glucoside**, Sage Extract*, Salicylic Acid*, Organic Tea Tree Oil*, Gluconolactone***, Sodium Benzoate***, Glycerin*.
*Plant Derived **Sugar Derived ***Naturally Derived
I hadn’t heard of Decyl Glucoside or Gluconolactone before so I did a little research: Decyly Glucoside is a natural mild surfactant (the stuff that makes you clean) and Gluconolactone is a natural food additive that gives things a tangy taste…I have absolutely no idea why it would be added to a face cleansing wipe, though…
I like that they have Salicylic Acid and Tea Tree Oil as both of those ingredients are great at combating break-outs.
Use: Remove, unfold and wipe away! I like to get my moneys worth and make sure I use every square inch of the wipe which ends up taking a little while. Not complaining! I chose this specific formulation of wipe as my skin is pretty oily and blemish prone, but Blum offers wipes for sensitive skin, normal skin and aging skin also.
Effect: The wipes remove make-up and dirt pretty effectively although removing my mascara took a little bit of effort and I was left with somewhat terrifying raccoon eyes until I had scrubbed away for a bit (I don’t recommend this at all actually as your eye skin is sooooooo very precious and delicate). Otherwise, my skin felt really clean, not tight at all and no reside like a lot of wipes I’ve used in the past have left.
Final Verdict: I’ve had these wipes for all of one day and I’m already hooked! I am already trying to think of more excuses to wash my face, which due to my skin type I probably should….. I only wish they were a little better at removing eye-make up. Either way, if you are lazy like me or actually a girl (or boy)-on-the-go which I’m sure is who these wipes are actually intended for, you should definitely pick these up. Cheap, healthy, easy to use and effective. BOOM.
Thanks for reading and have a great weekend!
-Annie Strole
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

