Skip to content

Review: Carol’s Daughter Macadamia Weightless Shine Mist

June 28, 2011

I feel as though I have been on an endless quest for shiny, glossy hair for years now. I drink tons of water, take an entire spectrum of Omegas (yes, that is a thing), use moisturizing/”shine enhancing” shampoos, conditioners, other various hair products and so far have had no success. I’m starting to think that I may just have to accept my coarse, dull hair. Maybe I should just refer to it as “matte”…it sounds somewhat more fashionable than “dry and frizzy”.

To find a natural shine product is even more of a challenge, as most shine products on the market contain a lot of ingredients that have a lot of the letter “x” in them, which for some reason always makes me nervous…for example: Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Hydroxyisohexyl 3 Cyclohexene Carboxalde, just to name a few. Gross.

I had heard a lot of customers at my store raving about Carol’s Daughter products, how great they were for the hair and that the products were all-natural so I was more than excited to try this shine mist. Not to mention this founder of this line worked as a hair stylist on The Cosby Show….sweet.

Price: $18, which I find is pretty standard for a high-end styling product

Ingredients: Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Isopropyl Palmitate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Biotin, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Retinol (Vitamin A), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Fragrance (Parfum)

I’m not entirely sure how natural Ethylhexyl Palmitate is seeing as it is one of those daunting words containing the letter “X”. I also get kind of nervous when companies vaguely list “fragrance” as an ingredient as sometimes those fragrances can be the most harmful ingredients in cosmetics. I do like that it has biotin and jojoba oil which are very strengthening and moisturizing to the hair.

Use: For some reason I had the bright idea to test this product out immediately before going into work on my first day of freelancing at a very high-end department store. I curled my hair and then spritzed this product on – 4 dainty pumps, one for each section of my hair – and turned to walk out the door….but then I immediately realized…

Effect: …the “weightless” claims of this product were not so accurate. I went from having clean, dry hair to looking completely drenched in oil in under 30 seconds. I was freaking out! I tried pinning it in ways to conceal the oil, I even tried piling it up on top of my head in a bun but you could still somehow see how greasy and disgusting it was. Not to mention the smell was very heavy, sweet and unappealing. I used probably half of my LuLu Organics hair powder to try to absorb this product but it hardly put a dent in the amount of oil in my hair. Eventually I realized if I spent any longer fussing with my hair I would be late to work so I just dealt with it figuring since it was my first day maybe they would think I was just always a greasy troll  and this hair style was a normal thing for me. Not a great way to start my day. Eventually my dry hair drank up a little more of the oil but my hair was still very weighed down and greasy all day.

Final Verdict: Needless to say, this product and I were not meant to be, which is unfortunate because now I have a huge bottle and have no use for it whatsoever. Maybe I’ll use it to lubricate my door hinges? Wax my floors? Actually I’ll probably just use a very minimal, VERY CAUTIOUS application of this product if I just absolutely need a little shine boost. I’m so disappointed because I would love to see a full range of effective, all-natural hair care and styling products. I’m not giving up on my mission of shiny hair though. NEVER!

Thank you for reading!

-Annie Strole

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

