Skip to content

Review 1 of 3: Giovanni Tea Tree Triple Treat Shampoo and Conditioner

July 2, 2011

I incorporate tea tree oil into my life on a daily basis – I use it on blemishes, mosquito bites, for cleaning around the house…even to get rid of a giant keloid that formed on my nose when I had the bright idea to get my nose pierced a couple of years ago during a quarter-life crisis…let’s not go there.

After all the abuse my scalp had taken from sulfates, it was in pretty rough shape…dry, flaky but getting oily very quickly, while the ends remained totally parched. I was clueless as to how to treat it, until a coworker suggest I try a shampoo and conditioner formulated with tea tree oil. I was pretty skeptical seeing as I normally use tea tree oil to dry out blemishes, but it was hard to resist a product called a “Triple Treat”, and the packaging indicated it was great for dry, flaky scalp. It also claims to help strengthen hair and encourage shine…ooh la la!

Price: $8.50 for each 8.5 oz bottle. I got mine at Ricky’s, but what I love about Giovanni is that you can find it at a lot of other retailers…Whole Foods, Target, a lot of grocery stores and pharmacies. Availability is key!

Ingredients:

Shampoo – Aqua (Purifed) Water, Tea Tree (Melaleuca Alternifolia) Oil, Peppermint (Mentha Piperita) Oil, Eucalyptus (Eucalyptus Officinalis) Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, Nettle (Urtica Dioica) Oil, Thyme (Thymus Vulgaris) Oil, Birch (Butela Alba) Leaf Oil, Chamomilla (Anthemis Nobilis) Flower, Clary (Salvia Sclarea), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender), Coltsfoot Leaf (Tussilago Fargara), Yarrow (Achillea Millefolium) Oil, Mallow (Malya Sylvestris), Horsetail (Equisetum Arvense) Oil, Soybean (Glycine Soja) Protein, C12 14 Oleifin Sulfonate (Coconut Derived), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E), Trace Minerals, Citric Acid (Corn), Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Sodium Chloride (Sea Salt), Grapefruit Seed (Citrus Derived)

Conditioner – Aqua/Water/Eau (Purified), Malaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil (Tea Tree *), Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract (Peppermint *), Eucalyptus Oil (Eucalyptus Officinalis *), Thyme Extract (Thymus Vulgaris *), Urtica Dioica Extract (Nettle *), Tussilago Farfara Flower Extract (Coltsfoot *), Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Extract (Sage *), Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract (Rosemary *), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Leaf Extract (Lavender *), Equisetum Arvense Extract (Horsetail *), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (Matricaria *), Achillea Millefolium (Yarrow) Extract (*), Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Brassicamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Panthenol, Cetrimonium Methosulfate, Menthol, Polysorbate 60, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexyglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance (includes essential oil), * Certified Organic (by Guaranteed Certification Services)

Some words that made me a little nervous that I researched:

  • Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate – a preservative that is a sodium salt of chemically modified amino acid glycine
  • Ethylhexyglycerin – a skin conditioner which might be an eye irritant…uh oh
  • Phenoxyethanol – another preservative that I couldn’t find a lot of information about

Luckily from what I can tell, none of these substances are carcinogenic or toxic.

Use: The shampoo has quite a silky lather and made my scalp all nice and tingly…this is especially refreshing during these mega humid New York summer months. I rinsed, applied the conditioner which also had a really nice, rich texture, and left it on for about five minutes also making my scalp tingly and cool. Upon rinsing my hair felt clean but also properly moisturized…not to heavy and not too dry.

Effect: Once my hair had dried, I did a scalp check and remarkably enough after one use I am already 100% flake free! That aspect alone is enough to keep me using this shampoo and conditioner, but it doesn’t hurt that my hair is markedly less frizzy, and feels healthy and moisturized root-to-tip. Plus, I can’t get enough of that tingly, cooling sensation. So, really it’s more like a quadruple treat. Fantastic!

I’ll be reviewing two more Giovanni hair products in the coming days so be sure to check back soon!

Thank you for reading!

-Annie Strole

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2012 7:51 pm

    I also LOVE the Triple treat, the tingling on your head feels AMAZING. I will only use ALL natural products on my hair as I have color-treated hair and it really does protect your color much longer. Try ALL the Giovanni products as they are all really good.

Trackbacks

  1. Review 3 of 3: Giovanni L.A. Hold Hair Spritz « Annie's All-Natural

Leave a Reply

