Skip to content

Review 3 of 3: Giovanni L.A. Hold Hair Spritz

July 6, 2011

At last, the final installation of my Giovanni hair product reviews. So far we’ve covered: shampoo and conditioner, some protection and styling with a leave-in conditioner, and of course the icing on the cake – HAIRSPRAY!!! Ahem…sorry…my Texan roots make me quite prone to becoming overly excited about the topic.

Hairspray is another one of those products that I was sure I would never be able to find an alternative to. Thanks to Giovanni’s PureOrganic Technology, whatever that might actually be, no beauty sacrifices will be made in the hair styling department due to caustic, carcinogenic chemicals.

I got this product at, you guessed it, Ricky’s!

Price: $9.99

Ingredients: Water, Extracts of Rosemary Oil, Nettle oil, Thyme Oil, Birch Leaf Oil, Chamomile Oil, Clary, Lavender, Coltsfoot leaf, Yarrow oil, Mallow, Horsetail Oil, PVP/VA Copolymer, Soybean Protein, Alcohol Denatured, Vitamin E, Trace Minerals, Citric Acid, Grapefruit Seed

Check it out! It’s that horsetail oil again that I was perplexed about in my review of LuLu Organics Hair Powder! Does anyone know what that stuff is intended for?

Also, I want to shed some light on VA Copolymer…it IS a synthetic vinyl polymer that provides hold, but it is not carcinogenic or toxic from what I can tell.

Use: After styling I just spritzed a small amount all over my ‘do. The product smells really refreshing and lemon-y…I had a hard time resisting over-spraying my hair!

Effect: Even without brushing through my hair after I had sprayed on this product, there was absolutely no stiffness or stickiness. The spray did well to hold my style…I usually wash my hair every few days or whenever it needs a sprucing up, and this hairspray did me solid for close to three full days without touch ups. I also used it another day to keep flyaways at bay while sporting a high ponytail (see below) and it definitely did the trick.

Krindi and I being stoked on natural and effective beauty products

Final Verdict: I will definitely continue to use and buy this product! Unfortunately there aren’t many other options when it comes to natural hairsprays out there, but luckily I’m quite happy with this one – nice smell, good hold and it isn’t drying like most hairsprays!

Three cheers for Giovanni hair products!

I hope y’all had a great Fourth of July! I celebrated by pigging out on a massive hot dog with crushed up potato chips on it. U-S-A!

photo and hand/hotdog modeling by Anna Niess

Thanks for reading!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

