Skip to content

Review: RMS Beauty Un-Cover Up in 22

July 17, 2011

I am so happy to have an opportunity to get back to reviews! Due to my aforementioned circumstances my skin is sadly in dire need of covering up. I’ve been dying to try RMS products and am so very inspired by the namesake of the line, celebrity make-up artist Rose-Marie Swift. I love that it is an all-natural line that also has a high-fashion feel to it with nice packaging…something I miss a lot about some of my old, unnatural lines. Due to its higher price point I felt the need to wait for a justifiable reason to purchase, but my current situation is as justifiable as any! I hate caking on a thick layer of make-up to hide skin problems because I love the look of natural skin, zit cover ups can be so sadly obvious and  I also know how horrible it is for my poor pores…therefore I thought RMS Beauty’s Un-Cover Up would be a great match for me!

Un-Cover Up is intended to be used as sort of a foundation and concealer indicated to “reveal and enhance healthy skin”. I found my particular pot of it at Manhattan’s Bloom Beauty Lounge which is a really cool, beautiful salon and boutique that offers all-natural services and products. After a great deal of deliberation, the helpful and kind staff at Bloom and I decided that Un-Cover Up number 22 (there are only colors 11, 22, 33, and 44 being the darkest) would be most suitable for me.

Price: $36.00…pretty steep for such a small pot, but when you think of the fact that it doubles as a concealer and foundation, well, it’s kind of worth it! Also, a little bit goes a very long way with this.

Ingredients: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Tocopherol(non-GMO), Rosmarinus officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, and may contain: [+/- Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499]

I know that Coconut Oil, Castor Oil, Cocoa Butter, and Jojoba Oil are incredible for the skin, even for acne-prone and oily types. Sometimes I get scared to put oil-based ingredients like this on my face, but they are decidedly much less scary than all the ingredients in unnatural, toxin filled products.

Use: I dotted this product onto any blemishes and discoloration with clean fingers. Due to the minimal color selection I was a bit skeptical of the the ability of this product to blend, but with a little work it melts right into the skin. I decided to not set it with powder as I would like to keep the amount of make-up on my face as minimal as possible.

Effect: While Un-Cover Up does do a great job of evening out discoloration and blending in very naturally, this product isn’t quite suited to cover up extreme blemishes and under-eye circles. Fair enough. The product stays on a rather long time, even without setting, but also touches up very well. It is incredibly light-weight and pretty much undetectable on the skin.

me and the ever-so-delighted Krindi displaying my face of RMS Beauty’s Un-Cover Up in 22 as well as Emily’s trademark up-do!

Final Verdict: I love the blendability (I’m making that a real word) and subtlety of this product and will be striving for it the be my only necessary face make-up. Unfortunately for now I need much more coverage, but will definitely be hanging onto this pot for once that day comes! I can’t wait to try more RMS Beauty products!

I hope y’all are having a great weekend…I just saw the new Harry Potter movie and I’m still emotionally recovering, ha! Have y’all seen it?

Thanks for reading!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 1:31 pm

    i hardly ever use cover up or foundation.. still not totally sure what the difference is hah. i only just purchased some a few months back, but i agree, this time of year i dont like all that stuff on my face. i get too sweaty! and im glad to see my up-do put to good use! it is totally my go to hair style when i just need it off my neck and out of my face!

    • July 17, 2011 3:26 pm

      I feel you….I think the more you cover it up the less the skin has a chance to look beautiful on it’s own! Thanks for the kind word on the ‘do! I had so much fun wearing it and got so many compliments!! I wore it 2 days in a row, ha!

  2. July 17, 2011 8:35 pm

    This is next on my list to try after I use up my Vapour concealer!

  3. Loni permalink
    January 2, 2013 12:41 am

    This stuff is amazing. I use it all the time and it always has a home in my make-up bag when I am out of the house. Great review! You can check out my review here, http://oneproductatatime.com/2012/12/10/un-cover-up/. Happy New Year too!

Leave a Reply

