Skip to content

Hair-Out-Of-Face Challenge: Spin Pin Edition

July 19, 2011

Okay, first of all, can you even believe how cute my blog lay out is now? I’m still not over it! Thank you to the wonderfully talented and ever hilarious graphic designer Anna Niess.

Today’s weather was downright gross, so I decided to try a style tutorial (aptly described as a “swoopy-braid-side-bun thing) I found on Orchid Grey suggested to me by the lovely Darcy.

Sadly you can’t see the bun, but its all the way on the other side of my head and I figured the braid-y side is much more interesting to look at. This braid in particular is an upside-down french braid, which is a bit tricky at first but fun once you get the hang of it.

I wanted to add that instead of pinning my bun on the other side of my head, which typically takes a great deal of bobby pins that tend to slip out throughout the course of the day, I used my favorite hair invention of all time, the Goody Spin Pin.

All hail the Spin Pin!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 3:09 pm

    I just bought the spin pins too! I love them and the fact that they’re hidden.
    Love this side braid too, i’ve been wanting to try to french braid my hair, since this heat it unbearable.

    And yes, the grocery store on my blog was the new foodtown in Wililamsburg. It just opened and we thought maybe it’d be better than our usual overpriced market. so far it’s pretty great.

    Very cute blog!

    Mel

    • July 19, 2011 8:39 pm

      French braiding and whistling are two things I thought I’d never be able to do, but it turns out with LOTS of practice, both are totally possible!

      I live right by there! Well actually I’m moving to Bushwick soon…but will more than likely be regularly visiting that ever luxurious FOODTOWN!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting Mel! I love your blog!

  2. July 19, 2011 4:24 pm

    Yay! It looks lovely.

  3. July 27, 2011 2:42 am

    Soo…I saw this and decided to try these Spin Pins and OMG, so wonderful. Nothing ever keeps my heavy ass hair up, but these do wonders.

    • July 27, 2011 2:43 am

      I guess I should say…”heavy-ass hair up” in case it could be construed to mean something else entirely. :/

Leave a Reply

