Skip to content

Line I’m Loving: Bhaktiveda

July 20, 2011

Last week I had the pleasure of attending a product knowledge training for a new, all-natural Ayurvedic body care line called Bhaktiveda. Impressively enough, the training was held by the president of the company itself, Laura Callegari, who was super pleasant and obviously very passionate about her product.

Laura explained to us the principles of Ayurveda (simply put: an ancient Indian holistic sort of approach to health care and beauty…it’s really cool and if you are interested I suggest you check it out!) and how those principles apply to her body care line. I’m sure you’ve heard me talk about how I think if you don’t feel comfortable putting something inside your body, you shouldn’t put it on your skin (as our epidermis is our largest organ after all). What I really like about this line is that it is not only safe to put on your body, it also uses herbs that are said to actually improve your over-all health and well-being once absorbed into the skin. That is something that cannot be said for most body care lines.

There is a also a great deal of adhesion to Ayruvedic principles considered when formulating these products, and all the herbs used in this line are picked at the foothills of the Himalayas. I know, it sounds like some ancient Indian fairy tale, but it’s true!

Anyway, Laura was super generous and gifted us with tons of samples. I’ve tried all the products in the line save the wonderfully rose scented bath salts (which I will be splurging on once I move into my new apartment with its brand new spa-style bathtub) and I’m pretty much hooked. All the products are super effective, and smell really great…like they are really good for you, but they don’t smell medicinal.

My current favorites are the Mud Mask and the Massage Oil. I immediately noticed brighter, more evenly toned skin immediately upon using the mask. As for the oil, Laura told us this sweet story about how if her daughters are feeling a bit under the weather, she’ll rub a bit of the oil into the bottoms of their feet before bed, put some socks on them to let it soak in over night and apparently all the good herbs in the oil help them feel better by morning! I tried it the other night despite feeling just fine, so I’m not sure if it actually works, but I’m sure it couldn’t hurt….and I certainly didn’t mind the super soft feet I had in the morning! It’s also great for all over use as a moisturizer.

All the products in this line range from $17-25, which if you ask me is more than fair for all the time, love and attention that goes into each individual product. I really suggest checking it out, you can find it at most health food stores and now at Ricky’s!

Thanks for reading!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cassie Kussman permalink
    July 20, 2011 9:09 pm

    I GOTTA try this stuff!! Annie Roleee I loves your blog and miss ya!

  2. Cassie Kussman permalink
    July 21, 2011 2:51 am

    Hopefully by September! Fingers crosseddd

    • July 21, 2011 3:19 am

      fingers and toesies crossed! just in time for my 25th birthday so you can be here to witness my epic nervous breakdown! can’t wait to SEE YOU, YOU QUEEN

Trackbacks

  1. Line I’m Loving: Pratima Ayurvedic Skincare |

Leave a Reply

