Skip to content

Product Review: Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay

August 9, 2011

I’m sad to report that despite my previously aforementioned new skin care routine my skin still hasn’t seen much improvement. Needless to say I’m growing pretty frustrated and distraught which I’m sure is only worsening my condition…boo!

We got this mask (which has a sole ingredient of benonite clay said to be used by Cleopatra herself) in my store last week…instantly I was curious. Upon reading literally hundreds of rave reviews and noting the price tag of a mere $7, of course I couldn’t help but purchase.

Instructions specify to mix equal parts raw apple cider vinegar and the powdered clay until it forms a smooth paste. Then spread it on, let it sit and feel the action begin….it feels like having a million tiny pulsating suction cups on your face, is that okay?

I’ve always loved that taking on the look of a mud-monster is part of a beautifying regime

I’ve done this mask about 3 times in the past week, leaving it on for about 30 minutes each time, and unlike the insane number of positive reviews I read, I’ve seen very little results; I’m still breaking out, but my healthy skin looks a little smoother? I think?

Do y’all have any experience with this product? I hope I’m not using it in vain. I’d love to hear your thoughts if you have any!

Thanks for reading!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    August 9, 2011 1:53 am

    It’s possible that you’re purging since clay masks are supposed to pull everything to the surface. Are you using an exfoliant? Not a manual, grainy one but something to clear the dead skin and gunk away?

  2. August 10, 2011 1:22 am

    I didn’t get any tingling or pulling sensation and I used Apple Cider Vinegar. I wonder if I’m doing something wrong too.

    • August 12, 2011 1:08 am

      It only does the crazy sensations when its really close to drying…at least for me! Lemme know if anything changes for you!

      • August 12, 2011 4:28 am

        I made it really thick last time, maybe if I make it a bit thinner it will dry faster.

  3. Emily permalink
    September 30, 2011 4:42 am

    I’ve always been curious about this product, but since I have fairly oily skin (like you, hah) I am now not so set on trying it out. I recently ordered Befine warming mud mask, and while it is not terribly warming, it does leave my skin feeling moisturized and “plump” after using it. It almost leaves a semi-greasy texture behind, but if I simply do a light cleansing afterwards, I’m pleased with the results.

  4. Carolyn permalink
    January 19, 2012 11:36 pm

    If it is not working for you, give it to your mother or grandmother. I am 59 and I use it to erase my wrinkles..just mix with water. Not apple cider vinegar…It is amazing on wrinkles. Apply with a small paintbrush and let dry. Place a warm wet towel over the mask before washing off in the shower..AMAZING

Leave a Reply

