Skip to content

Ilia Beauty: Pure Lip Care

January 19, 2012

While skimming through an e-mail from one of my favorite websites, Well and Good NYC, I could have sworn I saw mention of a natural lipstick comparable to the likes of NARS and Bobbi Brown. “Surely, that can’t be so,” I thought, positive my eyes were playing tricks on me. As simple minded as it may seem, my quest for a proper natural lipstick has been a journey filled with disappointment and despair: lies about the integrity of ingredients, pathetic color delivery or wear-time, packaging that is just flat-out embarrassing. It’s remarkable I’ve held it together for so long. A more intent gaze at the e-mail surprisingly refuted my disbelief: Natural lipstick maven creates a beauty line for the NARS-loving woman.

Okay. So you’re telling me there has been created an on-trend, high performance, natural lipstick….and you’re telling me that it is being sold at what I consider retail heaven-on-earth? I set out for ABC Home before I even finished reading the e-mail.

Lo-and-behold. I’m not really sure how I didn’t think to spend more time poking around ABC for new beauty purchases…their natural make-up selection is kind of unbeatable. I’ve always been distracted by their phenomenal visual merchandising – speechlessly appreciating the undeniable beauty while simultaneously recoiling in a combination of horror at the justifiably exorbitant furniture prices and a self-disgust, because why hadn’t I thought to decorate my house that way?

A veritable childhood wonderland

Of course I tried on every color, settling on the berry-red Arabian Nights. After spraying, sniffing, poking and smearing virtually every other tester in the apothecary department I finally relinquished $25.00 for my new shade, which I guess I should have expected having been compared to aforementioned high-end department store brands.

The wear is build-able, beautiful and unnoticeable, besides your lips feeling conditioned and healthy. Without eating or drinking, which y’all know is impossible for me, the color lasts remarkably long. I will say the finish is similar is closer to a  tinted balm than a lipstick, but much more pigmented.

Ilia‘s site offers a knowledgeable-yet-unpretentious sort of brand philosophy that makes me feel all fuzzy on the inside, as well as romantic, whimsical color descriptions that leave me with an unexplainable urge to snatch up all six shades…is that some sort of inherent female trait?

It goes without saying I am more than excited about this line and hope to see it flourish as the high-end line it sets out to be. I hope you all get an opportunity to indulge in these colors as well.

Thanks for reading!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 3:51 am

    Glad to see you’re blogging again! Ilia has some gorgeous colors that look totally up my alley. I’m just holding off for now because of the price.

    • January 19, 2012 4:34 am

      Thanks Mary! Yes, sorry to have been so neglectful but finally overcoming a major hump in work/life. Can’t tell you how much I appreciate your support. I definitely had to grit my teeth while handing over my debit card…especially because I ended up buying another shade as a gift for a loved one x_x

  2. April 16, 2012 12:06 pm

    I love that shade but wish it were more pigmented! But I am still drawn to the Ilia lipsticks, I think it is their beautiful and luxurious looking packaging!

    • April 25, 2012 9:56 pm

      I totally agree! At least it’s a great step in the right direction, right? Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

