Skip to content

Product Review: Mineral Hygienics Foundation

March 13, 2012

A few weeks ago the very generous Customer Service Representative, Erica from Mineral Hygienics (an all-natural cosmetics company based out of Iowa) sent me a set of their foundations, a mineral bronzer and their full coverage kabuki brush.

Honestly, I was a little skeptical to try a mineral foundation (I often find them a bit cakey and shimmery) and a bronzer (they usually just make my extremely pale face look dirty) from a company that I’d never even heard of, but the aforementioned Erica was so sweet and seemed genuinely excited about the product that I decided to give it a shot.

The product is applied just like any other mineral foundation…minimally and with a large, dense brush in circular motions. I also used a concealer brush to cover any additional discolorations. Initially, the product goes on evenly and blends with my skin flawlessly — it looks invisible on the skin with no lines of demarcation, a pleasant change from most powdery, cakey looking mineral foundations that I have a hard time blending. I set the foundation with their Sheer Perfection Mineral Finish, which is completely invisible upon application. Usually mineral foundations will start to blend with my skin’s oils, collect in crevices and look really obvious in more heavily concealed areas.

This foundation wore perfectly all through my 9 hour work day with no need for touch ups. No cakiness, no weird reflective mineral shimmer, just even, beautiful skin.

Mineral Hygienics promises the foundation will improve the condition of your skin, which I was also skeptical of, but since wearing this product I’ve noticed my skin is significantly less oily and I’ve been receiving tons of compliments on it’s evenness and “glow”.

As for the bronzer, it’s really subtle and beautiful not making me look dirty or muddy like all bronzers I’ve tried in the past.

I’ve actually thrown out my Laura Mercier and Bare Minerals foundation in lieu of this foundation and I can’t wait to try more of their products …I know it isn’t always ideal to buy cosmetics online (I’m big on testing and wearing products for a while before I buy), but I do recommend this product for anyone who is looking for a mineral foundation and hasn’t had success with any in the past.

Wearing Mineral Hygienics Foundation, Sheer Perfection Mineral Finish and Cool Kiss Mineral Bronzer, Physicians Formula Organic Wear Jumbo Lash Mascara, and Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Rose.

Thanks again to the lovely Erica and Mineral Hygienics…and thank y’all for reading!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

