Skip to content

The Search is Over: Kiss My Face Active Life Deodorant

April 4, 2012

I’ll never forget this day: I’m in second grade, already the most awkward human on the planet (more than likely wearing rainbow glasses, a troll doll necklace and toting a collection of Far Side comics)….my mom picks me up from school and the first thing she says to me as I get into the car is, “Man, you are RIPE!”. Being 8 years old, I had no idea what she meant, but apparently the day had already come for me to start wearing deodorant. The arrival of my B.O. was as intense as it was abrupt, and growing up in north Texas, elementary-age girls were intended to feel shame if they smelled of anything besides Bath and Body Work’s Sun Ripened Raspberry (the only acceptable alternatives might be Strawberry Splish Splash body spray by Limited Too or Pleasures by Estee Lauder if you’re really sophisticated). It wasn’t long before I was on the hard stuff: Certain Dri. A “prescription strength” deodorant you knew was working when you wanted to rip the itching, burning flesh from your armpits. That’s gotta be healthy.

It wasn’t until high school when I started hearing of the dangers of chemicals in deodorants (actually the first cosmetic I recall hearing of any adverse effects), decided anyone who had a problem with a little natural musk could kindly “F” off and began experimenting with alternatives. Over the past 10 years I’ve tried everything from Tom’s to crystals to pure lemon juice to apple cider vinegar, even modifying my diet to try to subdue the intensity of my B.O. but nothing really cut it. I know it’s a losing battle a lot of us are fighting. Again, I find no problem with moderate B.O. but let’s face it, I’m a make-up artist; I’m in people’s faces with my arms raised quite a bit and I know not everyone feels the way I do.

After being on the crystal for the past year or two and finding “okay” results with that, I decided to pick up  Natural Active Life Deodorant by Kiss My Face in Peaceful Patchouli (namaste y’all) and it really is actually doing the trick. The special quality about this particular product is that it utilizes natural vegetable enzymes and clay which neutralize and absorb odor. I’ve been applying right after the shower at night and another coat again in the morning and smelling pretty pleasant for all of my 15 hour days.

Sorry if this was a bit TMI, but I get deodorant questions a lot and I hope this helps!

Thanks for reading,

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly M permalink
    April 4, 2012 12:42 am

    Thanks, this does help a lot! I have always veered away from the ‘natural’ alternatives because I have had to use the super-duper-crazy-i-can’t-believe-its-really-gonna-work-extra-strength deodorant and had heard so many say the alternatives wouldn’t work for someone like me.

    I will definitely give it a go. Hopefully another product I can add to my cleaner living changes! 🙂

    • April 4, 2012 2:07 am

      Aw cool, I hope this works for you and best of luck with all the changes! Thanks for reading Kelly!

  2. darcydubose permalink
    April 4, 2012 6:14 pm

    I’m really glad you posted about deodorant because I, like you, have been a sweaty gal since turning teen. After I left Austin and ran out of my beloved Alvera roll on, I tried SO MANY natural deodorants and NOTHING worked. Turns out, my tried and true is made in Kerrville and not even local natural groceries in Portland carry it; gotta order online. But regardless, its the only thing that’s ever worked and it smells of aloe and almonds, which I’m all for.

  3. Kath permalink
    April 12, 2012 5:44 pm

    I just bought this yesterday but it’s already burning my pits. I had the same problem with the Tom’s kind that has the same active ingredient (zinc ricinoleate) two years ago, but when I picked this up I misremembered what it was that gave me rashes. I hope it keeps working for you, but if not, search for “tom’s deodorant rash” and you’ll see that there are lots of people who cannot tolerate this item, which is unfortunate because I have yet to find a natural deodorant that is effective without burning.

    • April 13, 2012 6:18 am

      Hey Kath, thanks for the comment. It’s funny…a few days after writing this I began to get that pit burn. Never fun. I kept up with it because I liked the smell/protection so much and after a few more days the burn/rash subsided. I hope this is helpful!

  4. London permalink
    May 10, 2012 7:28 pm

    Have you tried Soapwalla deodorant cream? It’s the purest deodorant you can get and really works, in fact, you can read in most natural beauty blogs and some magazines raves about it. I personally love it, it never burns or makes me itchy, keeps me smelling fresh and though it doesn’t stops me from sweating, it dries out very quickly. And I never liked Kiss My Face, I don’t feel it as a trustable brand, and compared to Soapwalla, is surely a whole world of difference. You should give it a try.

    • June 7, 2012 9:32 pm

      I haven’t but am dying to! Definitely my next purchase. Thank you for reading and commenting!

Trackbacks

  1. Product Review: Soapwalla Deodorant Cream «

Leave a Reply

