Skip to content

Product Review: Soapwalla Deodorant Cream

February 19, 2013

Helloooooo y’all! Please pardon my recent silence, I have been working up a storm holding down a full time job and also writing part time for Lovelyish! It’s been a real treat, but I miss Annie’s All Natural like crazy, so I’m gonna try to squeeze in some posts here and there!

I have been using Soapwalla’s Deodorant Cream, which is considered by many the holy grail of natural deodorants, for several months now and I wanted to share with y’all my experience! Y’all know deodorant is a big thing for me, so I was super excited to check it out.

I ordered my Soapwalla Deodorant Cream from Etsy, and paid nearly half the cost of the product itself for shipping only to discover it is hand crafted in the very borough in which I live! Next time, I’m going to have to pick it up from one of it’s many Brooklyn retailers.

When I received my deodorant in the mail, I was a little disappointed, as I was expecting it would be much bigger. I’m not sure why, because the site very clearly indicates that the product is 2 ounces. I soon realized that you use a very small amount of the deodorant cream.

I have to admit that it felt a little strange applying my deodorant with my bare hands, but then sort of realized we are socialized to view armpits as icky, got over it and am now sort of into it. The cream is very thick and slightly grainy in texture, with an intoxicatingly lovely scent. I use just enough to rub between my first three fingers and then spread it under each pit.

The first day I wore it, I really didn’t understand what all the hype as about; I was sweaty and reeking only a couple hours after I applied it. As time goes on, though, I find that my body has sort of adapted to the product. Now by the end of the day I smell and feel totally fresh.

I have to warn y’all though, as the site advises, do not use this the day you shave! Personally, when I use this the day I shave, my pits become super sensitive and rash-y. This may not be the case for everybody.

I really love this product because I feel like we overcame several obstacles in the beginning, but ended up working out our differences. Haha! We now have a strong, stable relationship, I think only bolstered by our previous hardships.

Soapwalla Deodorant Cream runs $14 a pop for a 2 ounce jar, which may seem like a lot, but I’ve been using the product daily for a couple months and am no where near halfway done with it. The whole being free of disease causing chemicals and preservatives is definitely an added bonus as well.

Here are the ingredients, in case you’re curious:

Organic Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) Oil; Organic Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Oil; Organic Rosehip Seed Oil; Butyrospermun parkii (Shea) Butter; Organic Corn Starch; Sodium Bicarbonate; Kaolin Clay; Organic Vegan Kosher Glycerin; Essential oils of: Organic Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender); Organic Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree); Organic Citrus Sinensis (Sweet Orange); Organic Mentha Piperita (Peppermint); Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergaptene-free Bergamot)

You’ve gotta love corn starch and kaolin clay for their absorptive powers and all those yummy essential oils. I’ll definitely be a Soapwalla girl for life.

Thanks for reading y’all!

tinylogo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

