Skip to content

Line I’m Loving: Pratima Ayurvedic Skincare

March 29, 2013

Pratima

Y’all may be familiar with ayurvedic medicine and skincare from my previous post on a little line I found a while back or from your own personal knowledge. Since being introduced to the Ayurvedic beauty world (which in short is an ancient Indian holistic, all-natural practice), I have been utterly obsessed with the idea and eventually discovered Pratima. Pratima is an Ayurvedic spa and skincare line  based in New York, founded by Dr. Pratima Raichur. Dr. Raichur hand makes her products and performs traditional Ayurvedic healing mantras while doing so. At her spa, face and body treatments are administered using products that comply with your Dosha. Unfortunately, I have a really bad habit of not treating myself to most things, especially spa services (I’ve literally had ONE facial in my entire life), so I just thought, “Hmm…amazing! Maybe someday.”

Well, that day came sooner than I thought when the lovely folks at Pratima asked me to take their Skin Analysis Quiz to determine my Dosha (I’m a Pitta Dosha, which after reading the description comes as no surprise), and then generously sent me the full range  of products intended for my particular Dosha.

You know, I’ve tried a lot of really amazing skincare products, and while I definitely had high expectations for the Pratima products, I really wasn’t expecting to be blown away like I am. I’m gonna describe each product one on one in the order they are used, so here goes.

First up is the Herbal Cleanser. This cleanser comes in a powder form, so I was a little worried about the mess that my clumsy self would make. Luckily the opening to the bottle is quite narrow, so just the right amount comes out each time. You mix a small amount with a couple drops of water and then massage it onto your face and neck.

The consistency of this product is a bit like a light paste with sand in it, which gently exfoliates the skin. The only way I can think to describe the smell of this product is like really fancy dirt which is a good thing in my book. The Herbal Cleanser consists of only organic milk powder, lentils, aloe vera, almond powder, neem and nutmeg. Not sure that it gets any more natural than that.

Honestly, I was concerned that this product wouldn’t give me the deep cleanse that my New York City-clogged skin needs, but I was pleased to discover that the Herbal Cleanser gives me a deep, exfoliating clean without leaving my skin feeling stripped or irritated.

After cleansing my face, it’s time for what is possibly my favorite part of the day: applying my Essential Oil! Y’all know how I feel about oils, and when I received this one from Pratima I was absolutely over the moon. Instructions direct you to massage three drops into your face and neck, but I usually have a bit left over, which I apply to the ends of my hair; they’ve never been smoother! I genuinely feel like this is the key component to the Pratima skincare routine. Consisting of  sweet almond oil, sunflower oil, organic essential oils of rose, sandalwood, ylang yland, jasmine and natural vitamin e, this product smells incredible, hydrates, soothes and balances my skin. At night, my beauty routine stops here because if I put too much on my skin at night, my pores get clogged.

Side note: The other day, I was in the shower washing my face with the Herbal Cleanser which got me to thinking about how much I loooooove the Essential Oil. “I can’t wait to put my oil on!” I thought, “It has seriously changed my life, I’m going to use it forever!” After I got out of the shower, I was getting ready at my vanity only to realize moments later that I had somehow knocked over my Essential Oil bottle, completely spilling it. I was utterly heartbroken!

Yesterday, I had the amazing pleasure of visiting the Pratima Spa to pick up another bottle (I couldn’t live one day without it). I have to say, the spa is more than worth a visit. Jen, a staff member at the front desk, was incredibly kind, helpful and knowledgeable, making the experience so awesome. I am definitely encouraged to return for an actual spa treatment as soon as possible!

Once my Essential Oil is all soaked in, I apply a pea sized amount of the Botanical Moisture Cream. This cream is silky smooth and super soothing; it has a really nice cooling effect on the skin. The Botanical Moisture Cream really works well to hydrate my winter weather chapped skin, but is still really lightweight. This product is comprised of aloe vera, sunflower seed oil, fennel, comfrey, carrot extract, sandalwood, safflower,organic essential oils of honeysuckle, orange, rose, eucalyptus, and vitamins A and E.

For that final protective measure, I apply one pump of the Neem Rose Face Sunscreen with SPF 3o all over my face and neck. This sunscreen is extremely lightweight, and doesn’t leave a weird white cast on the skin like many suncreens on the market. I was super stoked to receive this because natural sunscreens are pretty hard to come by. Ionized water, non-nano micronized zinc oxide, organic extracts of neem, brahmi, shatavari, licorice, vitamin E, lecithin, organic essential oil of rose and xanthan gum are all it takes for the UV protection we should all be utilizing.

As an extra treatment, twice a week I slather on the amazing Sandalwood Rose Mask. This mask works wonders for decongesting clogged pores, soothing breakouts and evening tone. The Sandalwood Rose Mask is chock full of nutrient rich muds, specifically sandalwood mud and ocean mud, in addition to turmeric, rosewater extract and manjistha. The effects of this mask are seen almost immediately; I saw a drastic improvement in the clarity of my skin after just one use.

sandalwoodmudmask

This mask dries down really tight, as most mud masks do, making it really hard to smile. Trust me, I am elated to be using my Pratima products!

So, that’s the full range of products from Pratima that I’ve been working with for the past several weeks. While there are quite a few products, I feel like the regime is really quite simple. After about a week of using these products I began noticing a very noticeable change in my skin. Most significantly, I haven’t broken out once since starting this regime — not even during that time of the month! I’ve also noticed that my skin is much more firm and bright; I feel comfortable leaving the house without a stitch of makeup on, which is new territory for me

What I love most about the products is the way they make me feel when I apply them; they scent of all the products is so relaxing and beautiful. I feel like  some sort of wise ancient Indian goddess every time I put them on, which is a lot more than most beauty products can say.

As if it’s 5,000 year old history weren’t enough, because of Pratima products I can definitely say that I am a lifelong believer of Ayurveda and am actually so inspired to adopt more Ayurvedic principles. I definitely encourage you all to determine your Dosha and give at least a few, if not the entire range of Pratima products a try!

Thanks for reading!

tinylogo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

